Saturday, August 1, 2015

RIP: Adrienne Martine-Barnes (1942-2015)

It sucks when you have to learn about new alternate historians only after they have passed away. File 770 announced yesterday that author Adrienne Martine-Barnes has passed away. Although mostly know for here work int he Darkover series, she also contributed to the alternate history genre.

According to Uchronia, she is the author of The Swords Sequence (The Fire Sword, The Crystal Sword, The Rainbow Sword and The Sea Sword), which is sometimes called Chronique D'Avebury. This four book series is set in a universe where the English royal succession is changed after Henry II and the Crusades never happened. Additionally, gods, magic and time travel also exist. Admittedly, I wasn't able to find much regarding this late 1980s book series, so if anyone who follows this blog has read them, please share your thoughts in the comments.

My thoughts and prayers go out to Adrienne's friends and family.

* * *

Matt Mitrovich is the founder and editor of Alternate History Weekly Update, a blogger on Amazing Stories and a Sidewise Awards for Alternate History judgeWhen not writing he works as an attorney, enjoys life with his beautiful wife Alana and prepares for the day when travel between parallel universes becomes a reality. You can follow him on FacebookTwitter and YouTube.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.