Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Breaking News: 2011 Sidewise Award Nominees announced

The nominees for the 2011 Sidewise Award for Alternate History have been announced. The winners will be announced and awards presented at Chicon 7, this year’s Worldcon. The award, named for Murray Leinster’s short story, “Sidewise in Time,” was founded in 1995. This year’s judges include Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stu Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver.

Short Form

“The Iron Shirts,” by Michael F. Flynn
“Paradise Is a Walled Garden,” by Lisa Goldstein
“Orion Rising,” by Jason Stoddard
“Lee at the Alamo,” by Harry Turtledove

Long Form

Castro’s Bomb, by Robert Conroy
Himmler’s War, by Robert Conroy
Then Everything Changed, by Jeff Greenfield
Wake Up and Dream, by Ian R. MacLeod
Planesrunner, by Ian McDonald
Heart of Iron, by Ekaterina Sedia
Camera Obscura, by Lavie Tidhar

Weekly Update is making it a point to provide its readers with reviews on all the short stories and novels mentioned.  If you have read one of these stories and want to post a review, contact me at ahwupdate at gmail dot com.  In the meantime check out our new poll asking you what short story should win the Short Form award.

*       *       *

Matt Mitrovich is the founder and editor of Alternate History Weekly Update, a volunteer editor for the Alt Hist magazine and a contributor to Just Below the Law. One of his short stories will be published in the upcoming Echelon Press anthology, Once Upon a Clockwork Tale (2013). When not writing he works as an attorney in the state of Illinois and enjoys life with his beautiful wife Alana.

No comments:

Post a Comment